General Skilled Migration

The purpose of the Skilled Migration Program is to attract highly employable people for migration to Australia. Over 60% of all migration to Australia falls under the general skilled migration program.

Skilled Subclasses

There are a range of skilled migration options:

Skilled Independent Subclass 189
Permanent visa option, the skilled independent does not require sponsorship by a relative or state/territory government

Skilled Nominated Subclass 190
A permanent visa requiring nomination by an Australian State or Territory government

Skilled Regional Provisional Subclass 489
This is a 4-year provisional visa which allows holders to live only in certain areas of Australia. You would need to be sponsored by an Australian relative living in a designated area, or by a state or territory government.

Skilled Regional Subclass 887
The Skilled Regional visa is the permanent stage of the Skilled Regional Provisional visa. To qualify for a Skilled Regional visa, you must live in the required region of Australia for 2 years and work full time there for 12 months.

Graduate Temporary Subclass 485
The Graduate Temporary visa is a work visa which can be applied for by international students who have completed a qualification taking 2 years of study in Australia.

Contact us for advice on your visa eligibility and your best visa option.